en

À propos

I have always been interested in art and I have explored in turn or simultaneously: photography, pottery, jewelry and painting, I have taken workshops and courses in several areas. Brother Jérome's workshops opened me up to spontaneity. Other courses made me practice figurative oil painting at the Saints-Léonard workshops then at the Couleurs d'Art workshops with Professor Richard Morin and I also explored visual art with Pierre Archambault historian and critic visual art.
When I retired as a teacher, I was finally able to occupy my free time to carry out several projects in visual arts. For twenty years, I was a jeweler craftsman while producing a few figurative paintings. For a few months, I decided to break free from the figurative to go towards the exploration of color and form in complete freedom. Having always painted in oils, I decided to keep this medium although it is more demanding than acrylic. I use the knives for more spontaneity and ease in movement. Sometimes I add semi-precious stones in my paintings probably influenced by my heritage as a jeweler. I also integrate different materials: sand, metals, algae ... And there can also sometimes be a touch of humor! Environmental awareness is never far away. In short, I would define myself as an artist free from any chapel and any commercial concern that follows his intuition, his spontaneity, always in exploration, always in motion ...
There is first the color then the gesture and little by little the colored shapes appear which are born from chance, from my unconscious or from the beyond, from the cosmos! Once the painting has stopped, stopped and not finished, because it is never finished. The painting no longer belongs to its author, It becomes the object of the spectator who at his sight may feel indifference, disgust, astonishment, revolt or arouse an interest in front of what may seem incoherent but which can arouse sympathy and attraction to what I would call a cosmic landscape ...

fr

À propos

Je me suis toujours intéressé à l'art et j'ai exploré à tour de rôle ou simultanément: la photographie , la poterie , la bijouterie et la peinture , J'ai suivi des ateliers et des cours dans plusieurs domaines. Les ateliers du frère Jérome m'ont ouvert à la spontanéité . D'autres cours m'ont fait pratiquer la peinture figurative à l'huile aux ateliers de Saints-Léonard puis aux ateliers Couleurs d'Art avec le professeur Richard Morin et j'ai aussi exploré l'art visuel avec Pierre Archambault historien et critique d'art visuel.
A ma retraite comme professeur , j'ai pu enfin occuper mes loisirs à réaliser plusieurs projets en arts visuels. J'ai été pendant une vingtaine d'années artisans bijoutier tout en quelques tableaux figuratifs. Depuis quelques mois, j'ai décidé de m'affranchir du figuratif pour aller vers l'exploration de la couleur et de la forme en toute liberté. Ayant toujours peint à l'huile , j'ai décidé de conserver ce médium bien qu'il soit plus exigeant que l'acrylique. J'utilise les couteaux pour plus de spontanéité et d'aisance dans le mouvement. Parfois j'ajoute des pierres semi-précieuses dans mes tableaux sans doute influencé par mon héritage de bijoutier. J'intègre aussi différentes matières : sable, métaux, algues ... Et il peut aussi y avoir parfois une pointe d'humour! La conscience environnementale n'est jamais très loin. Bref,
Il y a d'abord la couleur puis le geste et petit à petit apparaissent les formes colorées qui sont nées du hasard , de mon inconscient ou de l'au-delà , du cosmos !. Une fois le tableau arrêté, arrêté et non pas terminé, car il n'est jamais fini. Le tableau n'appartient plus son auteur, Il devient l'objet du spectateur qui à sa vue peut ressentir de l'indifférence, du dégout , de l'étonnement, de la révolte ou susciter un intérêt devant ce qui peut sembler incohérent mais qui peut faire naître de la sympathie de l'attirance devant ce que j'appellerais un paysage cosmique...